Carrying Concealed Weapons in Florida
Under Florida law, an individual may be charged with and found guilty of carrying a concealed weapon in a couple of ways. First, if an individual is carrying a concealed weapon or electric weapon or device, he or she commits a first degree misdemeanor which carries with it the potential for jail time not to exceed one year and the imposition of a fine not to exceed $1,000. Second, if an individual is carrying a concealed firearm, he or she commits a third degree felony which carries with it the potential for jail time not to exceed five years and the imposition of a fine not to exceed $5,000.
It is important to know that there is an exception to Florida’s concealed weapons laws. Chemical sprays and other self-defense devices may be carried in a concealed manner for only the purpose of self-defense, so long as the object is non-lethal. It isn’t always easy to prove that a particular concealed weapon or device is intended for self-defense purposes. This is why it is crucial to have a strong advocate by your side to argue the facts of your case that prove your innocence. The issue of self-defense is sometimes intertwined with a concealed weapons charge in Florida, so having the right attorney handle your case will provide you with the best chance possible of showing that you are not guilty and do not deserve to face jail time or other penalties.
What if I Have a Florida Carry Conceal License?
If you are a Florida citizen, there are steps you can take to obtain a carry conceal license that allows you to lawfully possess a concealed weapon. Individuals who pass a background check and undergo the required training classes may be eligible for obtaining a license to carry a concealed weapon. What many carry conceal license holders do not know, however, is that there are certain types of weapons that fall outside the scope of their license to carry a concealed weapon. Even if carry conceal license holders are provided information about what weapons can be carried in a concealed way and what weapons cannot, it is likely that there are going to be at least some gun owners with carry conceal licenses in Florida who are not aware of what weapons cannot be carried in a concealed manner.
Therefore, some carry conceal license holders have faced carry conceal weapons charges in Florida for possessing a non-eligible weapon in a concealed manner. This is very important to understand because this means that regardless of whether or not you have a carry conceal license in Florida, you are at risk for violating Florida law by unlawfully possessing a concealed weapon.
If the proper steps are not taken to obtain a license to carry a concealed weapon, and you are found to be carrying a concealed weapon in violation of Florida law, you may have a criminal conviction on your record that makes it difficult for you to obtain employment or go to school in the future. There are a great number of Florida residents who get away with unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon on a regular basis, so long as they are careful. However, the risk of violating a very strict law is certainly not worth it when the result of a conviction can be a variety of undesirable consequences as explained below.