Tampa DUI Penalties
The Hands Across the Border campaign is designed to promote safety on our state’s roadways. It is important that Florida drivers be aware of their driving habits and the safety of those in the vehicle, even if they have not been consuming alcohol. Law enforcement officials at checkpoints may take notice of vehicle malfunctions, improper seat belt use, or the presence of alcohol or drugs.
The legal limit for blood alcohol content in all states is 0.08%. It is important to note, however, that drivers who register less than 0.08% may still be cited for impaired driving. There are many aspects of checkpoints and traffic stops that drivers are unaware of. It is important that Florida drivers be aware of the law, and their individual rights. It is also important to understand the consequences of a conviction for DUI.
DUI Lawyer in Tampa
Contrary to some DUI myths, Florida law is very strict regarding DUI. Depending on the factors surrounding the DUI charge, the penalties can range from a citation to steep fines, community service, or incarceration. The penalties for a DUI conviction are as follows:
• First Conviction – The penalties for a first DUI conviction may include one or all of the following: a fine ranging from $500-$1,000; 50 hours of community service; one year of probation; revocation of driver’s license; incarceration for up to six months.
• Second Conviction – The penalties for a second DUI conviction may include one or all of the following: a fine ranging from $1,000-$2,000; 30 days vehicle impoundment; five-year revocation of driver’s license; incarceration for up to nine months.
• Third Conviction – The penalties for a third DUI conviction may include one or all of the following: a fine ranging from $2,000-$5,000; 90 days vehicle impoundment; 10-year revocation of driver’s license; incarceration of at least 30 days up to one year.
• Fourth or Subsequent Conviction – The penalties for a fourth or subsequent DUI conviction vary with the following statutory guidelines: minimum fine of $2,000; permanent revocation of driver’s license; incarceration for up to five years.
It is important to note that if a DUI conviction is obtained against an individual in a case where a minor was in the vehicle, the penalties are automatically increased. Additionally, drivers who are under 21 years of age are subject to the penalties of a DUI conviction if their blood alcohol content is 0.02% or higher. If you have been charged with DUI in Florida, contact an experienced Criminal Defense Attorney who will work for you.
Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. is skilled in handling the complexities of criminal defense and he will work hard to obtain the best possible outcome for you in your DUI case.
For a free consultation, contact our office at (813) 234-6374.
Marc A. Joseph, P.A.