Tampa Driving While License Suspended Lawyer
In the State of Florida, you must have a valid driver’s license in order to drive any motor vehicle on a State highway. If you do drive without a valid license, you may be subject to criminal charges that can result in jail time, fines, and other penalties.
There are several different scenarios where you might be subject to penalties for driving without a license in Florida, one being that you were driving and you simply forgot your license at home. In these instances, you might be legally licensed to drive, but you cannot provide an officer proof that you have a valid license. Usually, this offense is considered an infraction, which can be dismissed if you can establish that you had a valid license at the time of the incident. However, you may still have to pay a fine.
Another instance where you can be charged with an offense is if you never applied for a Florida driver’s license, or if your license is expired. If your license has been expired for less than six months, then the offense is considered an infraction, and you may be subject to a fine. However, if you do not have a valid license or your license has been expired for more than six months, you can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor offense. Penalties for this offense can include up to sixty days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Finally, if your driver’s license was revoked, cancelled, or suspended for one reason or another, you can be charged with Driving While License Suspended. Driving without a valid license and driving with a suspended or revoked license are different in terms of the elements and consequences of the offense. While being fined for driving without a valid license does not require proof that you knowingly drove without a valid license, to be convicted of DWLS, the State must prove that you drove on a suspended or revoked license knowing that your license was suspended or revoked. However, DWLS without knowledge is typically considered an infraction where you may be subject to a fine.
Can You Go to Jail for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida?
Yes. DWLS with knowledge is considered a criminal offense in Florida, and thus a conviction can result in criminal penalties. A first DWLS offense is considered a second-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by up to sixty days in jail, six months of probation, and a fine of up to $500. If you are charged with DWLS for a second or subsequent time, the offense is considered a first-degree misdemeanor, where penalties can include up to a year in jail and fines of up to $1,000. Third or subsequent DWLS charges are considered third degree felonies where a conviction can result in up to five years in jail and fines of up to $5,000.
Contact Dedicated and Experienced Tampa DWLS Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. Today for Your Free Consultation
If you have been arrested and charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license, or even if you’ve been cited with a no valid license offense, it is important that you consult with an experienced Tampa DWLS Attorney as soon as possible. Call Tampa DWLS Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. today to protect your legal rights as a conviction can result in jail time, fines, and a criminal record. Contact Tampa DWLS Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. by calling (813) 234-6374. We are available 24/7 so call anytime to schedule your free and confidential consultation.