Marc A. Joseph, P.A., Experienced Tampa Theft Attorney
In Florida, theft crimes are offenses that involve the unpermitted taking or use of someone else’s property. Typically, in order to be found guilty of a theft crime, the State must prove that you (1) intended to take or use the property of another, and (2) that you intended to permanently or temporarily deprive that person of their property, or (3) that you took the property for your own personal use or for the use of another person who was also not entitled to use the property.
The type of theft with which you are charged will generally depend on the value of the property stolen, such as is the case when it comes to distinguishing grand theft from petty theft. In Florida, grand theft involves property worth $300 or more and is usually charged as a felony offense. The crime of petty theft or petit theft, on the other hand, is the unlawful and unauthorized taking of property that is worth less than $300. Petty theft is considered a misdemeanor offense, and whether the offense is charged as a first or second-degree misdemeanor depends on the value of property stolen and whether you have any prior theft convictions.
Petty theft in the first degree, which is a first-degree misdemeanor, occurs when the value of the property stolen is worth more than $100 but less than $300. In addition, you can face first-degree petty theft charges if you have a prior theft conviction.
Petty theft in the second degree, which is a second-degree misdemeanor, occurs when the value of the property stolen is less than $100.
Anyone who has been convicted of petty theft two or more times can face third degree felony charges for any subsequent offense.
What Are The Penalties If Convicted Of Petty Theft?
If you are convicted of petty theft, the penalties you receive will depend on whether you were convicted of a first or second degree or felony offense. If you are found guilty of petty theft in the first degree, you can face up to a year in prison, a year of probation and fines of up to $1,000. For a conviction of petty theft in the second degree, the penalties can include jail time of up to six months, up to six months on probation, and fines of up to $500. The consequences of a third degree felony conviction can include up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000. With any petty theft conviction, you can also lose your driving privileges. Your driver’s license can be suspended up to six months for a first time conviction, and up to a year for each subsequent conviction.
Contact Skilled and Experienced Tampa Theft Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. Today for Your Free and Confidential Consultation
If you have been charged with petty theft in Florida, or any theft crime for that matter, it is important that you contact an experienced Tampa Theft Attorney right away. Criminal charges should not be taken lightly as a conviction can mean jail time, steep fines, and other penalties such as the loss of your driving privileges. When you choose Tampa Theft Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A., to work on your criminal case, you can expect dedicated legal representation from an attorney who has a track record of obtaining successful results. Contact Tampa Theft Attorney Marc A. Joseph, P.A. today by calling (813) 234-6374. We are available 24/7 so call anytime to schedule your free consultation and learn what we can do for you.